Association of Electoral Administrators

Help and Advice for UK Professionals involved in Running Elections

Association of Electoral Administrators - Help and Advice for UK Professionals involved in Running Elections

Welcome | Log In

Events in 2014

Annual Conference, Blackpool - "Facing The Future"

Hilton, Blackpool Hilton, Blackpool
Location: Hilton Hotel, Blackpool
Dates: Sunday 2nd to Wednesday 5th March 2014
Contact: James Stevens
Telephone number: 07912 310093

Conference seemed to go really well and we've had a lot of good (though informal as yet) feedback from both delegates and exhibitors. You can view slides from the presentations below and also pictures of the Members who received AEA Certificates, Diplomas and Annual Awards. The Branch photographs have been published on each individual Branch page. Many thanks to Stephen Davis, Sunderland CC, who was press-ganged into taking photographs at a very late stage! As you can see, he has done an excellent job. Thanks are also due on the photography front to Brian Smith, who, as usual, provided us with many pictures from the plenary sessions and elsewhere.

Notes of all the sessions are being prepared as I write this and you'll be able to read them in the next bumper edition of ARENA.

The Minister of State for Cabinet Office (Cities and Constitution), Gregg Clark MP,
delivering the keynote speech on Monday morning.

A packed main hall on Monday...

...listening to the Cabinet Office

...and the Commission

An informal discussion about IER (L to R: Bill Crawford, George Cooper and
Peter Stanyon)

Tuesday: Andrew Francis, Lea Goddard, Dave Smith and Christine Fisher.

Wednesday: Annual General Meeting - no need for name captions!

Powerpoint Presentations

These are copies of slides from all of the Powerpoint presentations given over the three days of Conference (in PDF format).


"Scotland - Our Challenges" - Kate Crawford and Sue Findlay
Maximising Registration - Ian Farrow, City of Westminster
Maximising Registration - Maria Hannan, Cabinet Office
Maximising Registration - Susan Hutson, Kirklees
Maximising Registration - Susan Saunders, City of Bradford
Individual Electoral Registration - Colin Dingwall, Cabinet Office
IER - What, when and how - Andrew Scallan, Electoral Commission


European Elections, an RRO's perspective - Dave Smith, Sunderland City Council
European Elections - Christine Fisher, Chief Executive, North West Leicestershire DC
European Elections, at the coalface - Lea Goddard, Croydon
Reform of Electoral Law in the UK - Nicholas Paines QC, Law Commissioner


Election Fees & Charges and RTI - Cabinet Office and HMRC

Presentation of Certificates, Diplomas and AEA Annual Awards

Congratulations to all the recipients of these, which were presented by George Cooper on Monday night at the Annual Dinner.


Paul Cooke

Kathryn Dunn

Janette Kenneally

Zara Macmillan

Michael Styne


Amanda Bebb

Andrew Hunter

Laura Lock

Peter Wildman

AEA Annual Awards

Lea Goddard

Stephen O'Hare

Our website uses cookies for essential functionality and analytics.
If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website.
Click Here to find out more about our cookie usage and how to opt out. Don't Show Again

Top ˆˆ

© AEA Elections 2014. All rights reserved. | XHTML1.0 | CSS

Association of Electoral Administrators – A Company Limited by Guarantee - Registered in England and Wales No. 2406897
Registered Office: Rice and Co., Harance House, Rumer Hill Road, Cannock, Staffs WS11 0ET.