Association of Electoral Administrators

Help and Advice for UK Professionals involved in Running Elections

Association of Electoral Administrators - Help and Advice for UK Professionals involved in Running Elections

Welcome | Log In

Events in 2012

Annual Conference - Blackpool

Hilton Hotel Blackpool vista

Location: Hilton Hotel, Blackpool
Date: Sunday 29th January to Wednesday 1st February 2012
Contact Name: James Stevens
Contact telephone number: 07912 310093
Contact email address:

Our 'silver anniversary' Conference returned to Blackpool once again. Plenary sessions included Individual Electoral Registration, Experian and the missing millions, Police and Crime Commissioner elections, data matching pilots, election fees and charges, Parliamentary Boundary Review and the reform of electoral law.

Workshops covered supplementary voting, what can go wrong at the verification and count, declaration electors, and electoral law, particularly the effect of the Local Government Act 1972 on electoral administration.

Click on individual items in the list below to view or download content.

Hotel website
Conference programme
Delegate's Application Form
Partner's Application Form
Social Night Poster

Slides from the Plenary Sessions Presentations

Sunday evening - Rallings & Thrasher
Monday - Individual Registration: The AEA's viewpoint - John Turner
Monday - Individual Registration: Cabinet Office
Monday - Parliamentary Boundary Review, Cross Boundary Elections - Martin O'Loughlin, South Ribble
Monday - "Experian and the missing millions"
Tuesday - Fees and charges: A Returning Officer's perspective - Mark Heath, Southampton City Council
Tuesday - Fees and charges: Cabinet Office view of the system now and in the future - Paul Docker
Tuesday - IER pilot studies - Renfrewshire VJB, London Boroughs of Tower Hamlets and Southwark
Wednesday - Police & Crime Commissioner Elections - Stephen Kershaw, Director of Policing, Home Office; Melvin Humphreys, Telford & Wrekin Council; Andrew Scallan, Electoral Commission



Jim Stevens' formal welcome to the 2012 delegates

(L to R) Deputy Mayor of Blackpool: Cllr Allan Matthews, The Mayor of Blackpool: Cllr Joan Greenhalgh, Sue Bedford, Assistant Conference Organiser

Chair, Kath Richards, with Professors Rallings and
Thrasher, at the Sunday evening session

Monday morning plenary session on Individual Electoral Registration:
Colin Dingwall and Jon Hoare (Cabinet Office), Robert Connelly (Birmingham CC),
Andrew Scallan (EC), John Turner, AEA Chief Executive, and Clive Joynes
(Isle of Wight Council), Session Leader

Members of the AEA for 25 years who attended Conference. (L to R: Lesley Hales, Andrew Scallan, Gina Armstrong, Michael Bentley, Brian Smith, Keith Porter, Christine Mason, Charles Lasham, Nigel Buttler)

Picture Gallery

Click here to view the gallery of pictures provided by Electoral Reform Services and Xpress Software Solutions.

AEA Certificate presentations

All the successful Certificate candidates

Mark Adam

Gina Armstrong

Julian Bassham

Anne Berry and Lesley McCall

Stephen Davis

Andrew Francis

Lesley Hales

Bryan Magan

Tom Marshall

Kate Monehen

Gavin Oag

Fiona Osman

Martina Reid

Tanya Rowlandson

Louise Stamp, collecting Certificates for Akhtar Ali, Steven Innell, Nkem Okeke and Seema Shanaz

Lizzie Tovey

Our website uses cookies for essential functionality and analytics.
If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on our website.
Click Here to find out more about our cookie usage and how to opt out. Don't Show Again

Top ˆˆ

© AEA Elections 2012. All rights reserved. | XHTML1.0 | CSS

Association of Electoral Administrators – A Company Limited by Guarantee - Registered in England and Wales No. 2406897
Registered Office: Rice and Co., Harance House, Rumer Hill Road, Cannock, Staffs WS11 0ET.